Traditional Chinese Medicine – 14 main meridians and Acupuncture Point Charts


As we have discussed in the precious article Jingluos are energy pathways inside our body. Jingluos Jing and Luos. Jing are meridians, they run lengthwise along the body, Luos are net, they are branches and sub-branches. Since jings are mostly dealt with general information, as a convenient time, we use meridians when we talk about Jingluos.

There are twelve main meridians (jing). Each one belongs to one of the organs that their names forward. They are: heart, pericardium, lung, stomach, spleen, kidney, liver, colon, small intestine, bladder, gall bladder and SanJiao. In Chinese medicine, Sanjiao is the container for all organs. Their names are very important. Each contains four pieces of information: where, nature (Yin or Yang), how much Yin or Yang, and the organ each belongs. Twelve main meridians are in pairs, symmetric about the center line of the body. They are:

1. Tai Yin lungs Meridian hands

2. Yangming Large Intestine Meridian hands

3. Yang Ming stomach feet

4. Tai Yin Spleen Meridian on foot

5. Shao Yin Heart Meridian hands

6. Tai Yang intestine Meridian hands

7. Tai Yang Bladder Meridian on foot

8. Shao Yin Kidney Meridian on foot

9. Jue Yin pericardium Meridian hands

10. Shao Yang Sanjiao Meridian hands

11. Shao Yang gallbladder Meridian on feet

12. Jue Yin Liver Meridian on the legs

13. Conception ship

14. Governor ship

(13 and 14 are extraordinary meridians presented below)

hands and feet specify the locations. Hand toward the upper body and runs into the arm and hand. Foot refers to the lower body and extending from the upper body in the leg and foot. The Yin / Yang relationship between them can be complicated. But for common knowledge, we can have a general view like this: the amount of Yin / Yang between large and small: Tai Yin Yin Shao larger than larger than Jue Yin; Yang Ming Tai Yang larger than larger than Shao Yang.

There are eight extraordinary meridians. Unlike the main meridians, they do not belong to any particular organ, but play a very important role in connecting the 12 main meridians. They support the main ones to help them realize their functionality and control and balance energy and blood flows.

The center line of the body are positioning origin of the vessel and governor vessel. Their role in the management of the flow of energy are so important that they are grouped with other 12 major ones described the 14 main meridians.

Each Meridian has two hours of the most active time every day (only 12 main ones). Times are listed in the table for each middle. Theoretically, in most cases, it is best to work in the most active in his time, but this is not practical for them yourself active time in the middle of the night. Therefore, for daily care, you can work when you have the chance. For medical purposes and follow the doctor.

To receive a free weekly health tips and learn some simple techniques of acupressure that you can do for yourself, please Register here .